## **Community Education Coordinators**

Jinx Stanwick	1977-1978	Lori Turner	1995-1997
David Colliton	1978-1979	Lori Gooch	1997-2009
Gary Wolff	1979-1981	Bill Toft	2009-2011
<b>Edward Ness</b>	1981-1983	Ronda DeWulf	2011-2015
Jim Lien	1983-1987	Alexander White	2015-2019
Rodney Leeseberg	1987-1994	Katelyn Becker-Rittg	gers
Linda Smith	1994		2019-present
Marsha Wolff	1994-1995		_

## **Community Education History**

as reported in the May 28, 1981, Northwoods Press:

- **1969** State of Minnesota started community education at the Governor's Conference.
- **1972** There were 18 programs in Minnesota.
- **1971** State Legislature passed the Community School Act authorizing the Minnesota Department of Education to promote and operate community school programs in the state. A community education section was established and a state director of community education was designated.
- 1973 State authorized a levy of \$1 for community education.
- **1974** There were 134 programs in Minnesota and by 1979, there were over 300 programs in the State of Minnesota.

**December 12, 1977** - The Nevis Community Education coordinator position was created at the school board meeting.

**1982** – The Community Education Coordinator's salary was raised to \$285 per month **June 27, 2016** – Jackie Brakke was approved as Community Education Coordinator Assistant