Art Work

Art competitions were initially held at the local North Country Museum of Art, today called the Nemeth Art Center, in Park Rapids. Students showed their art work with art selected to hang in the offices of local legislators and Congressmen in either Washington D.C. or the Minnesota State Capitol building. In 2006, a new competition was added as Nevis School students participated in the first Minnesota State High School League state art competition. In 2015, Art Club was added to the extra curricular schedule at the October 26, 2015 regular school board meeting.

- 1983 Ken Edwards won first place and his art work was sent to Washington, D.C.
- 1985 Edward Glogowski won 1st place and his watercolor artwork, "Nevis Café", went to Washington, D.C.
- 1986 Lisa Johnson won 1st place and her black and white drawing, "Shining Star", went to Washington, D.C.
- 1987 Ricard Lundsten won 2nd place and his art work hung in the office of Congressman Arlan Stangeland
- 1989 Jason Wolff won 1st place and his colored pencil drawing went to Washington, D.C.
- 1990 Nathan Hintz won 2^{nd} place and his artwork hung in the office of Congressman Arlan Stangeland
- 1991 Sheila Longfors art was selected to hang in Washington, D.C.
- 1992 Jeremy Alberg's art was selected to hang in Congressman Collin Peterson's office in Washington, D.C..
- 1993 Jeff Benson's art was selected to hang in Washington, D.C.
- 2006 Kayla Dannheim's art advanced to the Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) state competition
- 2007 Erich Allman's art advanced to MSHSL state competition.
- 2008 Jesse McLaren's art advanced to MSHSL state competition.
- 2010 Rachel Grider's art advanced to MSHSL state competition.
- 2012 Ellen Albright's video advanced to MSHSL state competition
- 2013 Patty Funk's video advanced to the MSHSL state competition
- 2015 Natalie Hilden's art advanced to the MSHSL state competition
- 2017 Kyrsten Sauser top honors at 2017 Youth Art Exhibit at Nemeth Art Center in Park Rapids, earning her a \$3,400 scholarship to Minneapolis College of Art and Design
- 2018 Kyrsten Sauser's art work earned the Golden Key at University of Minnesota Art competition from 3,800 entries. Only 8.5% of all entries earn the Golden Key. There are 27 categories. The artwork was on display at Regis Center for Art on the University of Minnesota Campus.
 - Kyrsten Sauser's art advanced to the MSHSL state competition
 - Grace Watson's art advanced to the MSHSL state competition
- 2020 Competition cancelled due to Corona-19 Virus



1983 Ken Edwards center with Pamela Teslow left and Mary Beth Megarry right Photo courtesy of Northwoods Press



1989 Jason Wolff Photo courtesy of Northwoods Press



1985 Ed Glogowski



1986 Lisa Johnson



1987 Rick Lundsten



1990 Nathan Hintz's painting being held by Congressman Arlan Stangeland Photo courtesy of Northwoods Press



1992 Representative Tony Kinkel, Jeremy Alberg, and Congressman Collin Peterson Photo courtesy of Northwoods Press



1993 Jeff Benson



1991 Sheila Longfors

Minnesota State High School League State Art Competitors



2007 Erich Allman



2008 Jesse McLaren



2010 Rachel Grider



2006 Kayla Dannheim



2012 Ellen Albright



2013 Patricia Funk



2015 Natalie Hilden



2016-2017 Kyrsten Sauser







2017-2018 Kyrsten Sauser